News – The strangest Final Fantasy ever


I’ve decided that in addition to the tri-weekly reviews to start adding news and opinion pieces to my blog as a supplement. These won’t be on any regular schedule, more of an ‘as and when basis’. I also can’t guarantee I’ll cover every pertinent piece of news going, just what I feel like.

I’ve chosen as my first such piece something that’s not exactly new, but it is something that I find very conceptually interesting. Now those of you who know Final Fantasy will probably know that it can be a pretty strange beast. Since its creation over twenty-five years ago its built up a rich internal mythology of themes, monsters, species, archetypes and injokes that can baffle outsiders at first glance.

This has lead to some pretty trippy games like Crystal Chronicles and Chocobo Racing. Recently it lead to the Dissidia games, a pair of fighters that combined some of the series most iconic characters in epic one-on-one battles. After the release of the second game project leader Tetsuya Nomura (who is also the brains behind Kingdom Hearts and a veteran videogame artist) announced to the chagrin of fans that if Dissidia was to return, it wouldn’t be as a fighting game.

And boy was he telling the truth. Instead it looks like its successor is what Square themselves have described as a ‘theatre rhythm game’. The game in question, titled Theatrhythm Final Fantasy, hasn’t had many details released for it yet but it looks to be the heroes from Dissidia on a quest to restore light to a crystal.

The game is planned for the 3DS, though there’s no word on a release date, plans for localisation or even any gameplay footage. What can be gleaned is that the game requires you to touch the notes on the screen with your stylus, with different colours requiring different techniques.

It’s been announced that fifty tracks will be present in the game, though only a handful have been revealed. It looks like this is intended to be a musical fanservice for fans as the released tracks include series classics like ‘Battle on the Big Bridge’, ‘One Winged Angel’ and ‘To Zanarkand’.

The graphics are appropriately cutesy, with the logo, a traditional emblem unique to each game, basically being semi-chibified version of the Dissidia logo.

Bizarre mashups seem to be all the rage these days, titles like Super Smash Bros Brawl and Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 as proof. And is Theatrhythm Final Fantasy the weirdest of them all? Oh dear Bahamut yes. Do I want it? Yeah. If only for the novelty.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Willow Wood
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 16:14:43

    This sounds like great fun! Who doesn’t love FF injokes and it’s awesome-bizarre mythology? I would get it if I had a 3DS. I’ve never been that enthralled with the 3DS platform, though… I really wants to play Dissidia 2. It looks much more like my kind of fighting game than Dissidia 1. You should add a picture of the logo for Theatrhythm Final Fantasy to this!

    Reply

    • jackcalico
      Jul 27, 2011 @ 16:18:29

      You’re the editor, you do it! Um…please? I don’t think the 3DS will be worth getting ’til it’s accrued a decent back catalogue, like Kingdom Hearts Dream Drop Distance etc.

      Reply

  2. corneilius5188
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 22:26:14

    I’m sure there are more than a few people who bought the 3DS for the Ocarina of Time remake alone. Fanboys are a retailers best friend, after all.

    Reply

  3. Mitch Allan
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 12:33:17

    I was almost interested, and then saw 3DS and thought ‘ah well, another perfectly good game that I’ll never touch…’

    But then I saw that chibi-Lightning. I am almost tempted.
    I MEAN, LOOK AT HER.

    Well, this certainly sounds fun, if bizaare, and I’d be lying if I said my inner fangirl didn’t love to oppurtunity to play a rhythm game with FF soundtrack classics.

    Reply

    • jackcalico
      Jul 28, 2011 @ 13:24:27

      Well Level-5 have released a poll asking which of their Japan only games their fans want released most internationally and Professor Layton vs Ace Attorney is winning. If they DO release it I WILL BUY A 3DS AND THAT GAME THE DAY IT IS RELEASED FOOD IS INCONSEQUENTIAL I CAN LIVE ON A PARK BENCH AS WELL WHO CARES ABOUT RENT I MUST OWN THAT GAME!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

