Stuff You Should Really Be Into 2 – The Revengening of Blood Death


So over the past couple of months I’ve been enjoying a site called thatguywiththeglasses.com, a collaborative site where many, many video reviewers review stuff and I thought I’d share it with you all so in no particular here’s my top 5 That Guy With The Glasses reviewers.

1. Doug “The Nostalgia Critic” Walker

That guy with the glasses himself, Doug’s Nostalgia Critic character reviews nostalgic film and TV shows. Well, ones that are from roughly the 80’s to the 2000. They’re comedy skits in which his larger than life character makes jokes about the bad characters, writers, acting, effects, plotholes etc.

It’s a bit MST2Kish,  but the videos usually don’ t run any longer than 15 minutes, so it’s really him just picking the highlights to make fun of.  He’s got a huge backlog of stuff and it’s well worth checking out.

2. Lindsay “The Nostalgia Chick” Ellis

Like The Nostalgia Critic, the Chick is a comedic persona that reviews nostalgic films and TV shows. Although she was hired to be the female Critic, reviewing the girly stuff Doug couldn’t, she’s evolved into a more analytical reviewer and because of that is my favourite on the site. Sure you get to see somebody making fun of bad films and it’s still funny, but I often feel like I’ve learnt something from watching her videos. Also, her friends Nella and Elisa who appear in her videos are hilarious.

Also also check out Elisa’s Vampire Reviews too.

3. Lewis “Linkara” Lovhaug

The site’s comic book guy, the Linkara persona is an angry man dedicated to reviewing bad comics. He’s pretty forgiving to them though, and a lot of what he points out are from what he’s learnt from decades of reading comics. It gets a little continuity nitpicky at times, but he’s still funny and well worth a look for comic fans.

Oh, and he’s also got a series dedicated to breaking down each series of the Power Rangers and reviewing them. Fuck yeah.

4. Todd “Todd in the Shadows” Nathanson

Why do I like this guy? He reviews pop music, which I’m really not into, has terrible production values and never reveals his face. But he’s hilarious. His persona is that of a pitiable, angry young man and a lot of the humour comes from his over-analysing the lyrics and thematic content of the songs, exposing their bad writing. He does also cover the music and technical side of things, but it’s not the focus.

I haven’t even heard of most of the songs he’s reviewed, but I watch these videos just for his spin on things.

5. Hope “JesuOtaku” Chapman

JesuOtaku is the anime reviewer for the site. I’m not much into anime, but I still enjoy her serious breakdowns of the technical and story/character focused breakdowns of the shows she reviews. She hasn’t really got a comedic persona like the other reviewers, but does have comedy skits related to the show she’s looking at at the beginning of her videos that’re always worth checking out.

She’s also part of the Desu Des Brigade of anime reviewers, creating a Digimon retrospective like Linkara’s Power Rangers one and a lot more besides.

Honourable Mentions

I like both The Spoony One and the Blockbuster Buster as well, but I haven’t looked at as much of their stuff and they don’t quite break into my top five. Check them out too.

And there it is gang! I really urge you to explore the site, there’s a lot of great stuff there.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrew
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 20:53:17

    Thanks for the recommendations. I’ll check them out. I really dig MST2K, so I’ll definitely check Doug out.

    Reply

  2. jackcalico
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 22:34:34

    Great! I’m always happy when I’m able to introduce people to something new and awesome.

    Reply

  3. Mitch Allan
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 12:23:06

    Heya – I’ve been a fan of TGWTG for a while, but never really explored – a lot of the reviews I’ve not heard of that you mentioned sound EXACTLY like my kind of thing. I will definitely be checking them out.

    Linkara’s History of the Power Rangers is one of my favourite web review series out there. I totally recommend the whole thing.

    Weirdly, Nostalgia Critic himself is my least favourite. I think I find his character too over-the-top or something :/ I prefer more content to comedy ratio, so I’ll take a look at the others.

    Great recommendations.

    Reply

    • jackcalico
      Apr 20, 2012 @ 13:38:59

      I forgot to mention that the Chick also provides a feminist element in her reviews that I really like. Enough to get her called a “feminazi” in the comments, so she must be doing something right 😛

      Reply

    • jackcalico
      Apr 20, 2012 @ 13:40:53

      Also Spoony’s 3-part FFX-2 review is so hilarious, even if he gets some big FFX plot details really wrong.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

